Inspiring everyone in motorsport

The Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame celebrates 120 years
of accomplishment in Australian and world motorsport.

The Hall of Fame exists to honour our champions, pioneers and heroes and to inspire our next generation. Through it, we recognise Australian motorsport’s highest of achievers – drivers and riders, and those who’ve contributed to the development of Australian motorsport sport.

Outside of the Olympic Sports, motorsport has generated more international success for Australia than most other ‘global’ sports in this country.

Motorsport delivers long-term social, sporting, community, and economic benefits. It has inspired generations of followers to dream the dream of international competition and to conquer the best that the nation and the world has to offer.

Induction in the Hall Of Fame is restricted to the top tier of competitors and those who support the sport.

Our Legends, they are simply the very best of the best!

On two wheels and four

Australia has a glorious history in both four-wheel and two-wheel motorsports, having produced multiple winners, Champions and Word Champions in world motorsport including Formula 1, Moto GP (formerly known as the 500cc World Championship), IndyCar, Sportscar, Karting, Rally and Drag Racing along with a stellar group of national racing heroes.

Whether it is on the world stage or at home, Australian motorsport in all its forms has a rich history of outright champions and larger than life characters.

At Home and Away

At Home

Domestically, motorsport legends the likes of Peter Brock, Dick Johnson, Allan Moffat, Mark Skaife, Craig Lowndes, Jamie Whincup, Jim Read, Graeme Cowin, Victor Bray, Colin Bond, Neal Bates, Coral Taylor, ‘Gelignite’ Jack Murray, John Pizarro, Drew Price, Gregg Hansford, Phil Crump, Steven Gall, Jeff Leisk, Norman ‘Wizard’ Smith are permanently etched in Australian Motorsport culture, history and folklore.


Sir Jack Brabham, Mick Doohan, Alan Jones, Wayne Gardner, Casey Stoner, James Courtney, Troy Bayliss, Jason Crump, Troy Corser, Jason Doyle and Chris Holder have all graced the top step of the motorsport podium at World Championship level, while others including modern day Formula 1 heroes Mark Webber and Daniel Ricciardo, IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500 winner Will Power, international sportscar and open wheel winner Ryan Briscoe, two-time Dakar Rally winner Toby Price, and up and comers – Jack Miller and Oscar Piastri have seen the Australian flag flown at the highest levels while standing on the top step of the podium in world competitions.

The Australian Motorsport Council

The AMC is constituted by Australia’s peak motorsport regulatory bodies across the five key motorsport disciplines – automobile, motorcycle, karting, drag racing and speedway. 

AMC’s members have earned their delegation of authority and responsibility to organise, sanction and control motorsports in Australia from their International Motorsport Federations both of which are members of the Global Association of International Sports Federations.

The Peak Motorsport Organisations

Australian Motorsport Hall Of Fame Inductees

Honouring the legends of Australian motorsport

View all Inductees

Latest News

Five new inductees in Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame One of Australia’s greatest Supercar Drivers, Dick Johnson AM, has inducted five new members into the exclusive Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame. The ceremony on the Tech stage at the Australian Formula One Grand Prix brings to 93 the number of inductees into the Hall of Fame over a period of 124 years.
Motorsport Star Maker Revered Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame inductee Allan Horsley, a respected promoter, manager, and star maker, has died in Sydney. He was prominent as the general manager of Oran Park raceway in its heyday and promoted the Australian Touring Car Championship clash which was so successful that police closed the gates and would allow no more spectators to enter.
Vale John Pizarro Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame inductee John Pizarro has died, aged 78. John was 15-time Australian Karting Champion, raced in Karts against Ayrton Senna, and was an inspiration to young karters and to the broader community in his hometown of Parkes, NSW.
Motorsport Hall Of Fame - A Feature Of The Australian Grand Prix A record cumulative crowd of more than 440,000 attended the 2023 Australian F1 Grand Prix. Throughout the race meeting , Big Screens around the circuit celebrated the induction of the latest four members of the Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame. Part of the culture of the Australian Grand Prix is to motivate the next generation of motor sport participants.
Legend Inducts New Motor Sport Hall Of Fame Heroes Mick Doohan, one of Australia’s three motorsport legends, has inducted four new heroes into the Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame. Five times motorcycle world champion Doohan conducted the ceremony at the Australian F1 Grand Prix where his son Jack was a leading contender in the world F2 championship.
Australian Motorsport Hall Of Fame Launches Website The Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame has created a website to honor its 88 inductees and inspire a new generation of competitors. The site went live to coincide with the 2023 Australian Formula One Grand Prix in time to induct four new heroes.
Swipe for more articles