John Goss, OAM

Winner Of The Australian Grand Prix And The Bathurst 1000


JOHN GOSS OAM is the only driver ever to win the Australian Grand Prix and the Bathurst 1000.

He claimed the Grand Prix at Sandown in 1976 by just 0.5sec from Australian International Vern Schuppan.

Goss won the Bathurst 1000 twice, in 1974 driving a Ford Falcon XA GT with Kevin Bartlett for patron Max McLeod and in 1985 for Tom Walkinshaw Racing in a Jaguar XJ-S with Armin Hahne.

Goss occasionally enjoyed factory support but made his name as a staunchly independent privateer who in his own words: “did it my way”.

His first Bathurst victory set him up as a leading touring car driver, but he determined to pursue his open wheel dream, acquiring the Matich A53 when its designer-builder Frank Matich retired in 1975.

Goss set himself a three year goal to win the Australian Grand Prix and achieved it in two.

Goss’ career began in Tasmania where he won the state’s touring car championship in an FJ Holden.

He came to prominence on the mainland with the self-designed and built 2.8litre Tornado Sports Car.

The flamboyant Goss raced aircraft and in the last 30 years has been project engineer on a privately owned Mediterranean based schooner, Adix.