Four New Inductees Into The Australian Motor Sport Hall Of Fame

Image: Australian Motorsport pioneer Joan Richmond with some of her trophies now held by the National Museum of Australia.

Joan Richmond, an Australian motorsport pioneer, heads a group of four high achievers to be inducted into the Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame.

The ceremony will occur at the opening day of the 2023 Australian F1 Grand Prix at Albert Park on Thursday 30 March.

It will begin at 1.50pm on the Fan Forum Stage, Oval 17, Champs Gateway, opposite the Formula One Paddock.

The inductees alongside Joan Richmond are John Goss OAM, the only driver to win both the Australian Grand Prix (1976) and the Bathurst 1000; Remo Luciani, seven times National Kart Champion and Victor Bray, six times Top Doorslammer drag racing champion.

Joan Richmond was fifth in the 1931 Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island and  sensationally won the inaugural Brooklands 1000 in the UK in 1932 against some of the best male competitors of the era.

She passed away in 1999.

Her medallion will be accepted by the National Museum of Australia which holds many of her trophies in Canberra.

A Brooklands Riley similar to that which Joan Richmond drove in the Australian Grand Prix will be at the presentation ceremony for pictorial opportunity. 

The four inductees join just 84 Australian motorsport heroes whose achievements over 123 years of Australian motorsport have been recognised by their peers.

The first motorsport event in Australia was on 1 January 1901 – the day of the nation’s Federation.

The Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame is the flagship of the Australian Motorsport Council, the peak body representing Motorsport Australia, Motorcycling Australia, Karting Australia, the Australian National Drag Racing Association and Speedway Australia.

For further information:
Stephanie Antoinette, Motorsport Australia ( +61 395 937 793)
John Smailes, Chair, Australian Motorsport Hall of Fame ( +61 418 28 4254)